top of page

The Election

This section will provide more information on the election process , candidates and how to vote.

The timetable produced by the Electoral Commission can be downloaded below:

The Process

The Electoral Commission will be responsible for providing guidance and setting out the process of the election.  The elections will be run by Local Returning Officers (LROs) in each local authority, with Police Area Returning Officers (PAROs) coordinating across each force area.  Both LROs and PAROs are independent officers, appointed from both central and local government.


The Leicestershire Police Area Returning Officer (PARO) is Bev Smith of North West Leicestershire District Council.  Each Local Authority will have a Local Returning Officer who, along with their Election Officers, will be helping to ensure the smooth running of the election under the direction of the PARO.

The Electoral System


If there are two candidates standing at the election, the Police and Crime Commisioner is elected under the first-past-the-post electoral system, whereby the candidate with the most votes is elected.


If there are more than two candidates the Police and Crime Commissioner is elected under the supplementary vote system. Voters can vote for a first and second choice candidate they want to elect.  The ballot paper will list all the candidates and voters will vote for their first choice candidate by marking an ‘X’ in the first choice column and for their second choice candidate by marking an ‘X’ in the second choice column.  If a candidate obtains more than 50% of the first choice votes, they will be declared elected.  If no candidate obtains more than 50% of the first choice votes, all candidates except for those in first and second place are eliminated.


The ballot papers showing a first preference for one of the eliminated candidates are checked for their second preference.  Any second preference votes for the remaining two candidates are then added to their first preference votes and the candidate with the most votes is elected.

Contact the Leicestershire PARO


Bev Smith

North West Leicestershire District Council
Council Offices
Whitwick Road
LE67 3FJ

Tel:   01530 454500



Who Can Stand

Candidates must be:


  • at least 18 years old on the day of your nomination

  • a British citizen, an eligible Commonwealth citizen or a citizen of any other member state of the European Union, and

  • registered as a local government elector in a local council area that is within the police area of Leicestershire, both at the time of your nomination and on polling day

You cannot stand for election if:


  • You have a conviction for an imprisonable offence

  • You are a serving civil servant, judge, police officer, member of police staff, member of staff of a Police and Crime Commissioner or member of the regular armed forces, employees of councils within Leicestershire, employees of a police related agency, employees of other government agencies, politically restricted post-holders, member of police staff or members of the police authority.  Members of Parliament and Members of the European Parliament can stand but would need to resign their seat if they were elected


The full range of disqualifications is complex and if you are in any doubt about whether you are disqualified, you must do everything you can to check that you are not disqualified before submitting your nomination papers.  Full details can be found on the Electoral Commission website.


If you want to stand for election you:


  • Must declare your intention to stand for election as a Police and Crime Commissioner by 4pm on the nineteenth working day before the poll.  This has now been confirmed as 4pm on Wednesday 8 April 2020.

  • Must complete and submit your nomination paper, including 100 signatures of registered electors from Leicestershire and Rutland and submit a deposit of £5,000 to the local PARO.


Further information on standing for
election is now available on the
Electoral Commission website.


Who Can Vote

To vote in the election voters must be:


  • a British citizen living in the UK or registered to vote as a crown servant or amember of the armed services

  • a European Union citizen living in the UK

  • a Commonwealth citizen who either does not need leave to be resident in the UK, or has the necessary leave and is legally resident in the UK


The majority of voters will vote in their usual polling station.


To find out more about the election, or to register to vote, visit the Electoral Commission website.

bottom of page